Dishwasher v. Handwashing


This debate has been raging on for years. Personally, I rarely wash dishes by hand. I live in a place with a brand new, energy efficient dishwasher. Since it’s just me I only run the dishwasher once or twice a week. If I’m REALLY cooking a lot, maybe it’s being run three times a week, but that is really rare. In all honestly, despite the environmental impact it’s far easier and time-efficient for me to just load the dishwasher. According to research and reports, for the most part it’s more environmentally friendly to use the dishwasher. Hand washing uses far more water, soap, and energy. Not to mention that it flat out takes more time. If one has an older dishwasher or is perhaps washing every night this might vary, but no one can say how much.

Bottom line? At this point in my life it is far more efficient, and environmentally friendly for me to use the dishwasher. This might change in the future. I’ll adjust at that time.

Do you handwash or use a dishwasher? What are your thoughts on the situation?

This entry was posted in frugality, small changes, sustainability. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

