Thursday Ten

In my quest for my version of sustainability, I’ve decided that I need to get rid of a LOT of stuff. My place has not been cleaned out in years and my closets are bursting at the seams.

I like the idea of minimalism to a degree. I could never be one that lives out of a backpack or anything of the sort. I would not stop doing things that I enjoy to make it so I have less stuff. With that said, there is no reason for me to have 4 dead pairs of running shoes just sitting in my closet. Though I can’t run  in them anymore because they’re basically flat, someone else can get use out of them.

This is all very important since I live in a small (very small) 1/1 apartment. I don’t have the space to hold onto these items. Fortunately, I’m not one that gets sentimental about stuff, so this should be pretty easy for me. It’s just a matter of getting it done.

This week I got rid of the following:

1 x old router/modem that I found in the closet
4 x old running shoes  1 x old DVD player (it doesn’t even work. Why do I have it?)
1 x stupid bracelet given to me by some guy
1 x DJ Squibbles setup. (Don’t ask. My mom is a pack rat and gives me weird things
1 x Stupid shredder- I’m pretty bitter about this one. I just bought it in October and it is wrecked. Pffttt..
1 x Gio squeaky toy that he peed on. meh
1 x HUGE bag of clothing
1 x bag of random hair accessories that have not been used (or seen) in years

In the future, I’ll take a few pictures of items as they go. For the time being this will work.

Note:  Any items that are usable are being recycled/sold/given away on Craigslist or sent to charity. Only broken items (or things that Gio peed on that can’t be washed) are being disposed of properly.

This entry was posted in wannabe minimalist. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

