Tales of a CSA Dropout


While cruising through Mark Bittman’s blog, I stumbled across a humorous piece about one of his staff trying to burn through her CSA bounty as a single person. She writes about some of the anxiety that comes with receiving a large amount of veggies every few weeks.. She preps her food ahead of time and takes random fruit to the office to snack on throughout the day.

This got me to thinking about why I’m no longer a member of a CSA. 4 years ago, my ex and I were CSA members and it was fine. He loved to cook and between the two of us we were able to eat through most of the produce. Once we broke up, I discontinued the CSA for a bit. At a later time, my neighbor and I decided to split a CSA shipment. It was every 2 weeks and WAY too much food for me.

Now, I have to confess something here. I don’t cook. I don’t like cooking. It doesn’t appeal to me and I find it to be pretty tortuous. I eat healthy, but keep my food super simple due to my limitations in the kitchen.

Every 2 weeks, I was presented with vegetables that I had absolutely no idea what I was supposed to do with them. I did not even know how to prep most of the veggies. I found myself throwing away more and more veggies because they either went bad or I just flat out did not like them. (I hate beets and kale. Why did I keep getting beets and kale? Over and over.) Eventually, I had to face reality and admit that I was not cut out for a CSA. Period. I want to be, but as a single woman that does not enjoy cooking it was not working for me. No matter how cheap it was, I could not justify throwing out food and the anxiety of the whole thing was too much for me to handle.

I’m semi-embarrassed by it, but that’s life. Fortunately, I’ve grown a bit cooking-wise and am finally learning how to cook quick, simple food from scratch on my own. I’m never going to be a foodie or one of these Martha Stewart types. I don’t think I need to be, either. Part of this whole thing is figuring out what works for me. NOT what other people tell me I shoudl be doing. Period.

Do you receive a CSA shipment? How do you handle the sometimes overwhelming amount of food? Do you wind up throwing anything out?

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

