September Challenge: Clean Up My Diet

I’m a vegetarian and have been for at least a decade. (No. I don’t really count or anything. I think that’s kind of weird.) There are times where I’m a
“good” vegetarian and others where I’m a “bad” vegetarian. What the hell does that mean?

When I’m being a good vegetarian, I’m eating nice healthy foods that don’t involve a lot of processing. I’m watching my food intake and using food as fuel. I actually eat more like a vegan than a vegetarian. On the other hand, when I’m a bad vegetarian I’m pretty much eating whatever I want as long as it didn’t once have a face. This can include questionable French Fries, copious amounts of wine and cocktails, too much caffeine, daily sweet treats. Cheese. Trust me when I say that cheese and I are NOT friends.

Lately, I’ve been leaning more on the bad side*. I’ve cleaned it up some, but I’m still partaking in too many spirits and sweets. Since I’m running the New York Marathon in November, it would be nice to finish up these last few weeks of training with the proper nutrition and just get myself back on track.

I’m not an absolute type of girl. I find when I make things too rigid I don’t follow through with things. I think the best thing for me to do will be to allow myself a few of the “bad” things.

Here are the things that I would like to do this month:

  • Cut down on the sugar intake. This one is pretty important. I’ve been chowing on cookies and brownies like they’re going out of style. This needs to stop.
  • Eat more vegetables and fruit. I actually eat a pretty good amount of these items, but I would love to get more.
  • Reduce my alcohol intake. I’m falling into the habit of having a glass of wine or 2 on nights where I don’t have big runs in the morning. The empty calories need to go and I’m sure it’ll help my wallet when I’m not buying bottles of wine to keep at the house.
  • Cut down on packaged foods. I’ve been eating more than my fair share of prepackaged foods. Overall, I don’t think that’s too bad. A Whole Foods organic frozen pizza once a month when I’ve been super busy is not bad. Three times in one week is, though.
  • Cut down on dairy products. I don’t drink milk or anything like that, but my cheese and ice cream eating were up over the summer. I’m lactose intolerant and those things don’t really work well for my body.
  • No fast food. This one is an absolute. No going to Einstein’s or Dunkin Donuts. Those are my 2 favorite places to hit for coffee and bagels. I can eat those here at home.

None of these goals are too hard. I just need to pay a bit more attention to what I’m putting in my body. Fortunately, school starts today so I will generally be far to busy. This will cut back on sitting around drinking wine while eating chocolate and things like that. I will allow myself a cookie or glass of wine here and there. Maybe once a week.

I’ll be checking in periodically to let you know how I’m doing.

Do you have any interesting goals for the month of September?

* I do understand that my “eating bad” is far better than the average American’s diet, but I know I can do better.

This entry was posted in challenges, food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September Challenge: Clean Up My Diet

  1. Pingback: Week Long Challenge | Sustainable GeekGirl

Leave a Reply

