Greenwashing: Tresemme Naturals

While watching a bit of tv over the weekend, I saw the commercial for a new product by Tresemme. It seems that they are launching a “Naturals” line of hair products. Take a look:

The first thing I wandered was if it was really natural. Of course, that made me realize that I have no idea what a “natural” product is. When I think of natural products I think of items with ingredients that I can pronounce and that occur in nature. Period. That might not be the “real” definition of natural but for now it is my definition.

Oddly, when I checked the Tresemme website, I could not find a list of ingredients for the new natural line. If the product is natural, why wouldn’t you list the ingredients for consumers? This automatically made me a bit suspicious. As I cruised around the site a bit more, I noticed that their tagline is “Salon-Quality Style with NATURAL BENEFITS“.  Well, that’s kind of weird. The commercial made it seem like the products were all natural or something.

The next time I found myself in Walgreen’s, I decided to take a peek at Tresemme’s Naturals product line. What do you think I found?

The conditioner and shampoo that I checked out both had a lot of chemicals that I could not pronounce. I also was not quite sure what exactly in the product made it “natural”. Is it the fact that they put “natural extracts” in it along with all of the chemicals? Am I maybe misunderstanding something?

Over the next few weeks I will do a bit more research as to what exactly makes a beauty product natural. In the meantime, I’m pretty sure that the new Tresemme Naturals line is not it.

What do you think makes a product “natural”? Do you have any links or anything that I should check out?

This entry was posted in greenwashing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greenwashing: Tresemme Naturals

  1. LeahC says:

    This isn’t quite related to the natural products but kind of maybe. I know that we have purchased “green” products in the past. My friend who is a chemist (who’s specialty is making soap) has laughed at me because I guess it’s mostly a marketing thing. I think the biggest thing you can do to be more green with your products is to use way way way less than you think. Like if you see soap bubbles you’ve used too much. She said that we as humans like to see the bubbles because then we think it’s really clean…but really it just means that there is too much soap or something…..I pretty much failed chemistry and jumped onto the physics ship long ago so I don’t really understand. But like when she washes her clothes she uses like a tbsp of tide, when they tell you that you should like the little cap thing…anyways, I’m sorry if you already know all this :). But I think less product = green.

  2. Leah, I’ve heard the same thing, too. I also think that most products do tell us to use way too much. I generally use half the amount of detergent when washing my clothes and everything still gets clean. I’m using less toothpaste, soap, etc. Less product is definitely green.

    I’m wondering if there are specific chemicals that should be avoided perhaps. I’ll have to do some research.

Leave a Reply

