Our Throw Away Culture

Things are really, really busy here at the GeekGirl homestead. (I love how that makes it sound like I have a ranch or something and not just a little tiny apartment.) School, work, freelancing, running, blogging. I’m falling behind.

Today, I’m taking the easy way out by posting a very interesting graphic that reinforces the idea that JUST recycling is not going to cut it. We need to also reuse, repurpose, AND reduce.

Note: This is based out of Europe, but I still think it’s completely relative to us.

Take a look after the jump: 

Recycling

Infographic by Recycle – Don’t bin it, recycle it

This entry was posted in reuse, sustainability. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Throw Away Culture

  1. LeahC says:

    love this. with the baby we are just trying to throw away less. We make all our own food for her so we don’t have to throw away baby food jars every day and we use cloth diapers about 80% of the time. We use disposable at night and if we are going out for a long time.

    Then we recycle as much as we can.

    I just want to tell people. LOOK AT HOW MUCH GARBAGE YOU PRODUCE. I think we need to think about how we can all throw away less…and what to do when we do throw it out.

    • Agreed fully. My big thing is that there are a lot of things that I just flat out don’t need to buy. That’s what I’m going to be working on next. For instance, there is no reason for me to buy little packs of baby carrots. I can package my own carrots for work. I’ll also save lots of money. Which I love.

  2. et says:

    Originally there was a 4th R – refuse. I think it was first in the list. Refuse to buy, refuse to engage in consumerism, refuse to use. As the graphic shows even recycling isn’t as efficient as refusing.

Leave a Reply

